Tuesday, December 30th, 2014

My morning began at Exhibit with a long-overdue haircut.

20130421_Exhibit-126

20130421_Exhibit-121 20130421_Exhibit-007Exhibit is a little place about 8 blocks from where I live in Greenpoint. I followed a stylist from Hair Metal there and love the results I get–though the price is high.

After my cut, I headed over to Williamsburg to meet A. On the way, I spotted some great paste-ups and a really lovely stencil.

IMG_6806 IMG_6805 IMG_6803 IMG_6802 IMG_6798 IMG_6797  IMG_6793 IMG_6791 IMG_6792

I particularly liked this piece which inspired me to look up the artist, Tatyana Fazlalizadeh, and learn more about her Stop Telling Women to Smile project.

IMG_6795

Our plan was to go to Peter Luger’s, the famous steak restaurant, for their lunch special.

peter-luger-steakhouse

But it wasn’t to be: the place was packed and not taking any more walk-ins. So we wandered for a ways, and managed to spot some really fantastic murals, including two pieces by Zed1.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES  SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

IMG_6820 

 SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

IMG_6825 IMG_6827

Our hunt for food took us by several places we wanted to try, and some really lovely vistas…

The Woods
Isa

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

But eventually ended at a favorite of ours: Croxley’s Abbey. We usually go for their wing deal but this time we branched out: I got the French onion soup, A got their pot of muscles; I got a “Black and Blue” (a mix of Bluepoint Blueberry and Guinness) and A got a Green Flash Road Warrior Imperial Rye IPA.

tumblr_inline_n3puhxvcm31qzwy03

After all that it was back to A’s for some down time accompanied by Anthony Bourdain. Particularly, his visit to the Ozarks.

Eventually A made me dinner because he is a gem of man. On the menu was turkey meatballs baked with mozzarella over spaghetti. There was even a little appetizer of fried mini-meatballs.

IMG_6836 10363605_663517413984_2952551985107653157_n

To finish off the lovely day, we unwound to a Coen Brothers movie that I had never seen but is one of A’s favorite films ever: The Man Who Wasn’t There.

I don’t usually go in for noir or black and white but I found this one quite engaging and gripping. This brings the number of Coen Brothers movies I’ve seen up to 6: The Big Lebowski, O Brother, Where Art Thou?, The Man Who Wasn’t There, No Country for Old Men, Burn After Reading, and True Grit. All in all: still a big fan.

– L

Leave a Reply

