Wednesday, December 17th, 2014

Today was our intern’s last day so my first stop of the morning was Baked by Melissa on 14th where I picked up a dozen mini cupcakes of assorted flavors.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES   SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

The work day ground to a halt around 4 when various holiday parties kicked into gear. I snuck down for some spinach and artichoke dip, puppy chow, and an overly sweet strawberry apple cider.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

After work, I headed to Hill Country Chicken to pick up some mashed potatoes that a friend has been jonesing for.

Sadly, I got nothing for myself…

Anyway, after that we headed to KGB on 4th for the monthly Fantastic Fiction reading series. This month the featured authors were my friend Rajan Khannan, and the estimable Steven Gould (of Jumper fame).

Are You There and Other Stories by Jack Skillingstead  Exo by Steven Gould

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES  SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Raj and Steven
Raj and Steven

I enjoyed at least one more white wine than I should have and caught up with nerdy NYC writerly folk. Even got a free drink on Analog. Ellen Datlow was roaming around taking pictures–her album is here.

After that, I had to scuttle over to Williamsburg to meet A and catch a cab together back to Greenpoint for some epic cookie making. (His company is doing a cookie swap and we obviously must bring our A-game.) The recipe of choice was this little thing from Sally’s Baking Addiction: Candy Cane Kiss Cookies.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

A did most of the work and I managed to burn my hand on the oven. In the end though, we think we did good.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Obviously such active cooking making called for a nightcap so we shared a few drinks, some fries, and an over priced and underwhelming chorizo and chicken empanada at my local Greenpoint Heights.

Not pictured is the adorable bar dog sitting on the stool next to mine, wearing a fox bandana.

– L

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
The author, day of, in Cookie Mode
Leave a Reply

