Monday, December 15th, 2014

In case anyone was wondering what bounty the December page of  the Boris Vallejo & Julie Bell annual Fantasy calendar held, behold:

IMG_6339

After work a group of us set off for the ice skating rink at Bryant Park (I’m of the opinion that living in New York requires you to do the touristy things at least once).

But sadly, fit wasn’t meant to be because friggen Jay Z and Beyonce booked the whole rink and bar for the night. So it looked more like this:

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

The group broke up and I wandered the winter market:

image      -ff11c5eeb38a85d6 SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES      thepond_v2_460x285   SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES      SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES      SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Couldn’t help but look up sometimes…

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES    SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES    SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Eventually I met S and we took a B uptown to Santa Fe, a local hangout for the older UWS crowd that serves good margaritas and satisfactory Southwestern.  The grapefruit margarita was damn tasty, the chicken fajitas we shared were fresh, and the tortillas were just how I like ’em.

485_columbus_interior01

The meal called for a nightcap of wine drunk out of tumblers and some SATC. Having finished a complete re-watch of the entire series about 5 months prior, S and I decided it was high time to restart. Thus, we got reacquainted with Season 1 Carrie in all her short hair goodness.

Primer-capitulo-sex-and-the-city_carrie-mrbig

Around 11:30 I decided to drag myself back to Brooklyn and was eyeing a cab. But when I stepped outside I thought I’d smoke a cigarette and catch a cab further South. That decision somehow tumbled into resigning myself to walk to the L at Union Square. Google Maps tells me this was 3.5 miles.

Screen Shot 2014-12-16 at 11.00.26 PM

It was wonderful and lovely with lots of “Damn New York, you pretty” moments–so much so that I kept the camera away, and just soaked it in.

– L

IMG_6342
Minta the Cat and the author, day of
Leave a Reply

